clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

No-hit Dominance & Futility since 1962


(Click to enlarge)

Every time a no-hitter is thrown a little piece of every Mets fan dies. Why? Because since coming into existence in 1962, no Mets pitcher has ever thrown a no-hitter--at least, not while they wore a Mets uniform.

Francisco Liriano's no-no earlier this week was the 127th no-hitter thrown since 1962. The graphic above lists each major league team and the number of times they both thrown no-hitters (orange) and been the victim of a no-hitter (blue).

A few brief observations:

  • The Astros and Dodgers are tied for the most no-hitters thrown since 1962 with 10 each. Oddly enough, Nolan Ryan only had one of the 'stros 10 no-no's. Koufax had four for the Dodgers.
  • The Giants have been no-hit nine times since 1962, the most of any franchise. That being said, they've managed to throw five of their own.
  • My New York Mets? Well, not only have they failed to throw a no-hitter, but they've been the victim of one six times. They have the distinction of being the first opponent to be no-hit by Sandy Koufax (1962). The most recent pitcher to do the deed? Daryl Kile in 1993.
  • Nolan Ryan, Tom Seaver, Dwight Gooden, David Cone, and Al Leiter are just a few pitchers that have thrown no-hitters since 1962 that at one time were Mets--just not when they had their day(s) of brilliance.